Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#47291 - 07/16/03 01:41 AM The Outlaw 950 or the Rotel 1066?
jmartin Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Rancho Cordova, CA, USA
I have been shopping for a pre-pro for 3 years. I own a Denon AVR 3200 with an Anthem 200 watts by three channels (MCA 3). This amp drives the left , right, and center Monitor Audio's Siver series (5i's are left and right).

I have auditioned:Lexicon MC12 and 8(Out of price range), B&K's Reference 30 & 50, Anthem's AVR 20 v2.0, and the Rotel 1066- both fantastic, with a nod to the Anthem for stereo. The Rotel and the Anthem were close in sound. The B & K was lackluster in music. The Lexicons were realy the best sound- but not $5000 away from the Anthem.

Does the Outlaw reach the Rotel? Is it safe to try the 950/755 combo? I can't imagine that the 950 could compete at about half the price- even after reading all of the reviews on the Audio Review site, as well in THe Perfect Vision, Home Theater, and Stereophile's Guide to home theater. Since i am a teacher ( with all that implies about my income), I would kick myself if I spend up to $800 more on a pre-amp that did not sound substantially better.

Could someone with experience with Rotel give me their opinion? I love the OUTLAW RCA interconnects!! They blew my Monster and MIT cables out of the water.

#47292 - 07/16/03 09:25 AM Re: The Outlaw 950 or the Rotel 1066?
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA