Hi, just letting you know I was able to hear the 972 yesterday. I put my review up at AVS. Note that I am not an expert, just someone who loves the hobby and great sound! Here is the review:

Hi guys,
I wanted to post my impression's of the new unit. I was able to stop by the demo yesterday and meet Jeff from Sherwood. He gave me a really nice demo of the unit, on a variety of material. It was a 5.1 setup. The Front 3 were Tannoy (small speakers, with 4 inch drivers I believe). The left and right were approx 5 feet apart, and the center was approx 1 foot below. The rear speakers were in the ceiling type. The sub was a Velodyne (the sub settings on the back were bypassed and setup by Trinnov). The room was pretty big, with thin carpeting, and non treated walls. There were two door openings to the left and right of the screen, and it was pretty noisy from the people talking and moving in and out from the other room. There was a door opening in the back as well.