I am a newbie here. But I want to touch two points. My setup first:

Sony CD/DVD DVP-CX985V (hate it)
Denon AVR-2105 (drives center and surrounds)
Outlaw 2200 monos X2 (drives mains)
Polk LSi15
Polk LSiC
Polks RTi28 surrounds
SVS sub PC-Plus 20-39 (newest addition down to 16hz)

The Outlaw 7500 looks intriguing to me. I could buy it and use the 2200's for Surround BACKS. Or, I could bi-amp the LSi15's. But as it is, the LSi15's are rated at 250 max watts. I like moveis, but I love music! Classical and rock! My system benefits greatly from the addition of the 2200's and obviously the soumdstage is off because Denon is driving half the system. But in stereo, everything is great. The SVS sub may seem useless, but it ebbs into my next issue. With certain classical recordings (particularly large orchestral ones in rooms) the mics picked up "building" sounds and sometimes air. What showed me this? The SVS subs! It exposed too much!

My background: I am a violinist and composer. As part of my education, I had to take a class in physics/acoustics. That it was a POS at the time, but now things are really making sense to me. I cannot and will not presume to know 1/8th of anyone here so forgive me if what I say is common knowledge. Since what I am going to talk about is attempting to fuse real acoustic with solid state technology, it may not translate at all.

Let's say a violin plays his open G sting (the lowest all by itself. It is actually playing a fundamental and everynot in a harmonic series. And brass player could tell you those right away. In my example, the first note (fundamental) is the G, then the series of harmonics above (not always audible seperately) D, G, B, D, F, G > infinity