Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#92536 - 02/02/13 04:35 PM Help Calibrating Speakers and Setting Crossover
9fourteen Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

I'm a new OA customer. I recently purchases a 975 with a 7125. I'm new to all this and never really setup a system before or at least never really knew what I was doing. I have a couple questions. This may be obvious but when calibrating the speakers using an SPL meter (I downloaded an app for my phone), do I want all 7 speakers to have the exact same dB level? What does the speaker distance setting do? Does the distance and calibration work together somehow or are these two completely different things? My sub didn't register on my SPL meter app. How should that be calibrated? The actual speakers I have are Polk Audio Monitor 4 bookshelfs. I have 6 of those and a Polk Audio 5jr as a center channel. Old stuff, may not be the best but I have always liked the old Polk Audio speakers. The frequency range on the M4 speakers is 35Hz to 25KHz. Should I set the crossover down to 40Hz since the speakers can go down to 35 or should I use a higher value? The manual says to use 60 to 80 for a bookshelf speaker.

That's it for now.

Thanks,
Don

#92537 - 02/02/13 09:00 PM Re: Help Calibrating Speakers and Setting Crossover [Re: 9fourteen]
XenonMan Offline
Desperado

Loc: Columbus,North Carolina