Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#8849 - 08/07/05 05:57 AM New System Newbie Request
yodamoon Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: UCLA
Hi folks, my name is Mike, I'm a college student at UCLA and I'm putting together an audio system for my apartment. I am very new to this compared to you all, so I figured I'd post here and get a few opinions. Here is my question... and thanks ahead of time.

I am trying to put together a sound system that is excellent at being both a SOUND system and a home theater system. To best explain this, I want it to be able to play music for parties and when I just generally want to rock out. However, I also want it to work well for movies with surround sound and such. I don't know if such a thing is possible, but I'm going to at least try *laughs*.

Currently, I have a few components, all mixed and matched that I managed to aquire or purchased.

Speakers - 2 year old Bose Acoustimass 6 system. Single jewel cubes with an "accoutsitmass module," which is Bose speak for two 6 and a half inch woofers inside a ported box.

Receiver - Sony STRDE598 . It's a 6 channel $200 amp from best buy. That's probably enough said, lol.

DVD Player - None, looking for suggestions. I want to have the best sound quality for DVD movies, I don't own any DVD-A disks so that's not a priority.

Subwoofer - LFM-1. I love this baby, but she needs a good system so she doesn't sound so alone.

Ok, so these are obviously not components that will work together. The Bose system is meant to be stand alone, and certainly is horrid for playing music at parties. It relies so much on the "Accoustimass module" it's horrible. I'm not married, so size of the speakers doesn't bother me. But I inherited the jewel cubes *shrug*

Now, I would love to hear your suggestions, I understand everyone's ears hear differently, but I'd love to have some audiophile ideas.