Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 17 of 32 < 1 2 15 16 17 18 19 31 32 >
Topic Options
#86564 - 03/19/11 04:20 PM Re: No Ethernet? [Re: XenonMan]
Bill Mac Offline
Gunslinger

Originally Posted By: XenonMan
I don't think I will ever update the 886 because of the hassles involved.

I did the FW update on my 886 with files provided by a member over at AVS. I have to say I am a computer newbie and I was able to do the update without any issues. My biggest concern was a power outage while the update was in process. I did my 805 and 885 as well with no problems. But I am looking forward to the release of the 978 as it has just about all the features I am looking for.

Bill

#86567 - 03/19/11 07:44 PM Re: No Ethernet? [Re: gonk]
EricTheBlue Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Denver CO
Quote:
1. If Outlaw wanted to, they could include a 512KB or 1MB USB stick in the box with the Model 978. All users need to do is download a file (or files) onto their computer (Windows, Mac, or Linux), copy the file(s) onto the stick, and plug the stick into the processor. They can even get the file(s) at work if they don't have a computer at home.

True, and that would be a nice touch but the question is, will they?

Quote:
2. If you have a home network and will have the processor connected to the network all the time, Ethernet should be straightforward. What I've noticed while watching people get into Blu-ray players is that frequently they don't have Ethernet at the equipment rack. That's why I think it's really important to at least have USB as an option. As for the proximity to a computer, a USB update doesn't require that at all. I've lost count of the number of times I did USB firmware updates to the BDP-83 when I downloaded the files and copied them to USB at work (five miles away from the player) and installed the update when I got home.