Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#75830 - 12/03/06 09:34 AM Model 970
RJP Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

First of all, I am not an audiophile like most of the people who post in this forum. I have very little knowledge on the subject. With that said, I asked for advice from a tech at axiomaudio.com for stereo system powerful enough so that I could listen to music and play my drums to. At the same time, I wanted a system that would "blow me away" when just listening to music. The system that was recommended is as follows:

A Pair of Axiom M80s V2
Model 970 Preamp/Processor
(2)Model 2200 M-Block Amplifier

Based on the reviews and recommendations I have read online I feel like I received good advice and am almost ready to purchase the system.

However, after reading all the problems people are reporting in this forum in regards to the Model 970 Preamp/Processor,I am now having second thoughts on purchasing this unit. I went by a local audio dealer yesterday and they recommended the follwing preamp and amplifier:

Anthem TLP 1
Anthem PVA 2

So, I am looking for advice from members of this forum in regards to whether or not I should go ahead and purchase the model 970 or look for something else. And any recommendations on what that something else sould be would be appreciated.

Thanks.

#75831 - 12/03/06 10:31 AM Re: Model 970
iardon Offline
Gunslinger

I'd buy the 990. Doesn't seem to have all the various bugs the 970 does. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn't have bought my 970.

We are still waiting for the "official" firmware release for the no audio problem. There are other problems as well like front panel buttons locking, weird volume issues (pressing up lowers volume and vice versa), popping from speakers, and damage to speakers.
M&K 851 for L/C/R
Axiom QS8 for SL/SR/1SB
SVS Pb12-ISD/2 (x2)
Sony VPL-HW15 (Retired Infocus 7205)
Sony PS3 / Pioneer DV-533

#75832 - 12/03/06 11:03 AM Re: Model 970
RJP Offline