Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#74392 - 01/23/06 11:03 AM SMS-1 Slope Settings
wingnut4772 Offline
Desperado

Loc: Miami
I couldn't help myself - I had to keep playing with my new toy and tweaking. The initial improvemnt was terrific but as I learn a little more I find I am able to continue improving the sound and response.

I have an SVS PB12/Ulra 2 sub which hits pretty low and I did notice that it did not seem to be hitting as low as it did before the SMS addition. Then I started playing with the slopes and discovered that changing the default slope setting from 24 to 6 solved that problem nicely...but I am not exactly sure I understand why or exactly how the slopes work or act in a system.

Does it help to match a sub slope with the mains or does that not matter? Also I ended up setting my Polk LSI 15s to Large. They have a lower db limit of 30. Does this sound okay? My crossover is set to 60. TIA

#74393 - 01/23/06 11:34 AM Re: SMS-1 Slope Settings
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Is the slope you are talking about the slope of the subsonic filter, or are you using the SMS-1's low pass crossover?

Assuming for the moment that your talking about the subsonic filter (which makes the most sense considering your comment on how it is behaving), a lower slope will cause the signal to drop off more slowly below the filter point. This means that the lower slope means your SVS will continue to get some signal (albeit steadily more and more reduced as you more toward lower frequencies) below the subsonic filter point. A higher slope will cause the signal to drop off to nothing much faster.

With the Polks set to large, I'm wondering how you are getting any signal to the SVS during calibration. Large mains will mean that the processor won't produce a subwoofer signal from the SMS-1's EQ output.

#74394 - 01/23/06 01:40 PM Re: SMS-1 Slope Settings
wingnut4772 Offline
Desperado