Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6879 - 09/18/02 12:48 PM Looking for main speakers around $700
Hnrybr Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: The Woodlands, Texas, U.S.
I am going to buy a 1050 a/v reciever within the next few weeks, but I still have not made a decision on what speakers to get. I have been looking at the klipsch RF-3, PSB Image 5T, and Axiom Millennia M50 Ti. I have found the klipsch RF-3 and the PSB 5T at ReliableAudioVideo.com for about $550 pair with shipping they will be about $650. Unfortunatly my limit is around $700 since I am a poor college student. I appreciate any suggestions and advice offered.

Thanks

Jeff

#6880 - 09/18/02 04:56 PM Re: Looking for main speakers around $700
Matthew Hill Offline
Desperado

Loc: Mount Laurel, NJ
I'm very happy with my Axioms (M80Ti) but YMMV.

If you're not dead set on towers, the M22Ti may also be worth investigating. For towers, it may make sense to jump up a notch and consider the M60Ti; it's not too far outside your range.

------------------
Matthew J. Hill
matt@idsi.net

#6881 - 09/18/02 11:58 PM Re: Looking for main speakers around $700
DOBEMAN Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Lake Michigan Shoreline, MI
I think you may want to look at Monitor Audio Silver 5i series. They had a list price of 1000 dollars but they are at dealer closeouts right now. New in box are selling for about 600. Look around on ebay and audiogon, you can find them for as low as 400 used. They have had very good reviews. I liked them for music and Home Theater. And now my son likes them for the same reason. Of course he was a graduate student looking for a good deal also.

#6882 - 09/19/02 03:29 AM Re: Looking for main speakers around $700
Hnrybr Offline
Deputy Gunslinger