Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#5956 - 12/28/05 10:14 AM HDMI Connection
dwmayo1 Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Buffalo, NY
I am new at this stuff so please be patience with me as my question(s) may sound elementary to some.

I am currently having problems with my Denon SACD 2900 player and the installer of my HT system has baically told me SOL because it is 2 years young! As a result, I am in the market for a new one player. I have narrow my search to the Pioneer 59AVi unit. I would be using this unit with my AVM 20 amp / preamp and viewing on my Sony 60 inch LCD XBR HDTV. My system also has a Sony HD Tuner for viewing those very few HD stations which are awesome!

My question is twofold:

1: If the Pioneer has a HDMI connection, does this connection take place at the back of the TV or does it connect at the preamp? My reason for asking this question is because I believe the Sony HD Tuner is connected to what I further believe is the only HDMI connector on the back of the TV.

2: Is investing, this Pioneer is around $650, in a SACD worth it at this point? Especailly considering that major changes to this format could make these units obsolete. Lastly, I am told the lower the D/A Converter number the better the picture quality....Is this true?

thanks for any help and if you have recommendations on other players, I would be interested in knowing.

happy holidays!

Dave

#5957 - 12/28/05 10:32 AM Re: HDMI Connection
Ritz Offline
Desperado

Loc: NJ/Beijing
I guess I'm a bit confused about why this is posted on the Outlaw forums. There isn't any Outlaw equipment listed in your signal path.

Also, for the money, you might consider the Denon 2910 rather than the Pioneer.

Cheers,

#5958 - 12/28/05 10:55 AM Re: HDMI Connection
dwmayo1 Offline
Gunslinger

Hi Ritz thanks for the response.

I did not see under "Tips and Tricks" where it says only for those who own Outlaw Equipment, which by the way I do by the way, need apply.