Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#48268 - 02/26/02 05:36 PM two of seven
tetra500 Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Dallas, Tx
Since this is my first attempt at separate, I have a few questions that I need a little information on. First, my mines eyes see my new 770 amplifier operating at only 30% of its capacity, 90% of the time (stereo mode, two of seven channels operating). Be that as it may, what should/can I do with the other five channels that are apparently idle? Also, how do the terms bridge and balance apply to a multi-channel amp (neither of which seem to apply to the 770)? Finally, is there some type of rotation recommendation for the channels used most often so that amp “ages” equally? Any response is appreciated.

mt

#48269 - 02/26/02 05:51 PM Re: two of seven
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
I don't know about the amp aging question. As for the bridged and balanced, neither apply to the 770.

Bridged -- Bridgeable amps allow two channels to be combined to act as a single channel for twice the power. So a two-channel 100WPC amp that is bridgeable can also be used as a single-channel 200W amp. None of the 770's channels are bridgeable.