Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 8 of 13 < 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 12 13 >
Topic Options
#42019 - 09/29/02 02:30 PM Re: Analog introduces hiss?
tonygeno Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: MA
"Indeed. I've said it before, and I'll say it again: it is very ironic that we're even talking about noise in a digital component! "Perfect sound forever"......"

Until we get digital amps and digital speakers, we're going to continue talking about noise.

#42020 - 09/29/02 07:49 PM Re: Analog introduces hiss?
Will Offline
Desperado

Loc: LA's The Place
Thanks Soundhound for coming over to visit and take S/N measurements on my 950.

I wrote down some of his measurements. With the volume set to 0, trim to 0, with the analog DSP mode set to straight stereo, Soundhound measured the left front channel on my 950 as:

Full bandwidth, referencing .775v: -67db
With a 20kHz bandwidth limited filter in-line with the voltmeter: -77 db

I am no expert on what he measured. I'll defer to Soundhound on any specifics of his measurements on my 950.

Despite the audible hiss, my 950 sounds fine from my normally listening position. The audible hiss in mine is not as loud as in Soundhound's system, probably because my speakers are not as efficient as his horn speakers are.

#42021 - 09/29/02 08:09 PM Re: Analog introduces hiss?
soundhound Offline
Desperado

Loc: Gusev Crater, Mars
Quote:
Originally posted by tonygeno:

Until we get digital amps and digital speakers, we're going to continue talking about noise.

Compentently designed analog components would do nicely also....

#42022 - 09/30/02 11:37 AM Re: Analog introduces hiss?
surroundophile Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Chicago, Il. USA
tonygeno
I posted this earlier here. The Atlantic Technolgy version DOES change componenets....

Thank you for your interest in the P-2000. Here a few of differences
between the Outlaw 950 and the P-2000.

Premium hand selected and calibrated components in the key processing