Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#40557 - 09/30/02 03:33 PM 5.1 Analog Input / Speaker Output ?
tx_outlaw Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Houston, TX, US
o.k., so i'm a newbie and still trying to figure all of this. I've looked through previous posts but haven't seen this question addressed. My appologies if I'm rehashing an old subject.

If I buy a DVD-A or SACD where does the sound for the rear channels go? Do I have an option to route them to surround / rear surround (speaking 7.1 setup)?

The only info I found in the manual was a reference to not even use the analog inputs, but instead use optical in to let the 950 decode the signal.

So those folks who are using an SACD / DVD-A, how have you got it setup with your 950?

Thanks.

#40558 - 09/30/02 03:46 PM Re: 5.1 Analog Input / Speaker Output ?
patman Offline
Gunslinger

If you want the 6-channels of audio, you must connect the 5.1 analog output from the DVD-A/SACD player into the 5.1 analog input of the 950. Then you need to punch the "6-channel button on the 950 remote (make sure the AUD button is the "active" remote device).

With DVD-A, you can play a Dolby Digital (less quality) version of the DVD-A audio track, and this only requires the use a digital connection between the player and the 950. (This assumes the DVD-A disc has a DD audio track as well as the other 6-channel track).

#40559 - 09/30/02 03:55 PM Re: 5.1 Analog Input / Speaker Output ?
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Pretty reasonable question. Let me see if I can clear it up some...

Quote:

If I buy a DVD-A or SACD where does the sound for the rear channels go? Do I have an option to route them to surround / rear surround (speaking 7.1 setup)?