Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#35799 - 12/04/01 11:42 AM bass management for 950
byrnebv Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: san diego ca usa
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to bass management, but based on my speaker specs...center: 35hz-22khz; fronts: 20kz-22khz; surrounds: 38hz-22khz...what should I initially set the 950 crossover for each set of speakers? I know the sound will be different from system to system, but what would be a good starting point?

#35800 - 12/04/01 11:55 AM Re: bass management for 950
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
If it were me, I'd start with the center and surrounds crossed over at 40Hz and the fronts set to large (completely full range).

You might also play with crossing the surrounds over at 60Hz and see what it does. Do you have a sub, or are your mains handling all the low frequency? If you do have a sub, you might experiment with crossing the fronts over at 40Hz too, and maybe even bump the center up to 60Hz.

#35801 - 12/05/01 02:23 AM Re: bass management for 950
MrSandman Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Charlotte, NC, USA
My system has low sensitivity (89 dB) speakers all around, so to lower the load, I started crossing over my speakers at 80 Hz to lower the load on my somewhat challenged amp, even though all would indeed run full range. For my system (two subs) and tastes, this was a good solution. I achieved a higher SPL, with a minor bump in the frequency response. I would only suggest this if you have an overtaxed amp and low efficiency speakers, as that is my case. If I had more power to play with, I would attempt to run my speakers full range. Personal taste is always a factor, though.

S.

#35802 - 12/12/01 08:52 AM Re: bass management for 950
jaymer Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Tampa, FL
Hi,
byrnebv, you think YOU are a novice - heck, i'm 38 and have had stereo equip all my life and I don't have a clue what you are talking about.