Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#27483 - 01/29/05 09:34 AM Pardon My Ignorance...
silversport Offline
Desperado

Loc: ChicagoLand/USA
I am brand new to "multi-channel" sound previously only having a 2 channel (stereo) rig.
I just set up my 950/7100/LFM-1 combo with Klipsch Heresy Mains and a center and surrounds (for the last week I have only listened in stereo mode)
Watched "Blackhawk Down" last night and enjoyed it but not "blown away" by it...but I have not yet set everything up as it should be yet.
My questions are:
Do you all listen to music in "multichannel?"
I listened today and then switched to "stereo bypass" and I like the sound better...perhaps because I am used to it?
When you put in a movie, do you find the sound is considerably lower than if you were just playing stereo music? Why is this?
Do you turn your sub up (louder) during movies than you do during music? I am still learning this as well...
Sorry for the "newbie" questions but you have to start sometime.
Thanks.
Bill

...Let the Movies and Music Play...

#27484 - 01/29/05 10:31 AM Re: Pardon My Ignorance...
soundhound Offline
Desperado

Loc: Gusev Crater, Mars
I always listen to stereo music the way it was intended - in stereo. Decoding it with ProLogic compromises the original imaging, if that is important to you.

#27485 - 01/29/05 10:44 AM Re: Pardon My Ignorance...
grundrc Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Montgomery, TX
I've always liked the bypass myself versus the multi-channel. It utilizes an analog signal versus a digital signal. It seems a little fuller and warmer to me. I also like the 5 channel digital better than the 7 channel or digital stereo mode. However, as I've read more in the forum and learned more about the 950 and felt more comfortable making adjustments to it, I've found that I can dramatically change the warmth of the digital modes by changing the crossover points.

#27486 - 01/29/05 12:02 PM Re: Pardon My Ignorance...