Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#26415 - 08/12/04 12:47 PM Video Processing
Music Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

I have a question regarding video processing with the 950 or any pre/pro for that matter. Let me preface by saying that I am relatively new to the Home Theater arena, and trying to learn before I buy.

Presuming that a TV has an adequate number of input connections with updated technology, why not simply connect the video of the DVD and satellite receiver/cable box to the TV? Thus, bypassing the pre/pros ability or lack thereof to process the video signal. After all isn't that the main function of the pre/pro, to process the signal prior to amplification?

#26416 - 08/12/04 01:28 PM Re: Video Processing
readster Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Bartlesville, OK USA
That is the best connection, running straight to the tv, the less connections the better.

#26417 - 08/12/04 01:45 PM Re: Video Processing
Jeff Mackwood Offline
Desperado

Another important function of a pre/pro is to potentially handle all, or most of, your A/V switching. It might thus be more convenient to route all of your source material through the 950.

As far as signal degradation goes: while I agree that less is better when it comes to the number and length of cabling, I can't say that I have ever noticed any signal difference / degradation either way - EXCEPT when my 950's component video circuits were malfunctionning. A new video board cured that problem.

Jeff Mackwood

#26418 - 08/12/04 03:01 PM Re: Video Processing
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA