Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2583 - 08/01/02 03:33 PM Newbie Needs Advice on home theater
dragpeace Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Morgantown, WV 26508
I'm a complete home theater newbie but want to get into it. I have around $2000 max to spend. Currently, I have a great Sony 32" tv (HDTV ready), Directv (with only composite outputs from the box), Adelphia cable (for local stations) and a decent VCR. I'm considering the 1050, a Denon DVD 1600, and Home Theater Direct Level 3 speakers (the complete 5.1 set). My priorities are watching sports and movies on satellite and cable tv, watching DVDs, and listening to CDs and eventually DVD-Audios. This is in a typical family room.

It all looks like it will work, to me, but I really don't know what I am doing, to be honest. I would greatly appreciate any advice that people can give me on any aspect of this plan (everything from having enough inputs on the 1050 to my choice of speakers). I should add that I am considering the Denon AVR 1802 instead of the 1050. Thanks!

#2584 - 08/01/02 04:28 PM Re: Newbie Needs Advice on home theater
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
It sounds like a good plan to me. The HTD Level 3 speakers have been used by others with the 1050, as I recall.

Inputs should be fine. I'd run composite video from the DirecTV, Cable box (if you have one), VCR, and DVD, which will use up all four composite video inputs. If you have cable TV run straight to the TV, you could connect the TV's audio output to the AUX audio input. I'd also run component video directly from the DVD player to the TV (the composite from the DVD is largely for convenience). You've got three digital inputs, but only one source with a digital output, so you should be in fine shape there.