Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#2565 - 07/28/02 09:55 AM Do I need Component Video Switching???
ucla95 Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

I'm a complete AV newbie. Getting a Sony HDTV capable projection TV, so do I want/need component video switching (i.e. is the 1050 enough for me)? What's the benefit over SuperVideo?

#2566 - 07/28/02 11:14 AM Re: Do I need Component Video Switching???
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Component video will provide the best picture quality, but because of the bandwidth involved in component video it's best to go directly from the source (DVD, HD decoder) to the display -- switching that won't cause any degradation is expensive. Also, you can't get an HD signal to the display without component video, so you'll definitely want to use that if you have an HD decoder. The 1050 has no on-screen display (the display on the unit handles everything), so you don't need to go through it except for convenience.

S-Video typically is a good bit better than composite. With some source material can look comparable to component, but with the right source material and equipment component will definitely win out.

------------------
gonk -- Saloon Links | Pre/Pro Comparison Chart | 950 Review

#2567 - 07/28/02 12:20 PM Re: Do I need Component Video Switching???
Matthew Hill Offline
Desperado

Loc: Mount Laurel, NJ
I don't completely understand the bandwidth argumet. If a switch is just connecting the input to the output, why should the bandwidth of the signal matter at all? What's the bandwitdh capacity of a copper wire?

------------------
Matthew J. Hill
matt@idsi.net

#2568 - 07/28/02 03:50 PM Re: Do I need Component Video Switching???
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
I know more or less zilch about the design details of component video switching, but I can see the need for certain consideration in that design.

Quote:
What's the bandwitdh capacity of a copper wire?