Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#2512 - 07/19/02 12:04 PM Humm in system
clombardi Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: San Diego
I have heard a very bothersome humm in my system coming from my speakers and sub. It is driving me up the wall. Since I'm a system rookie, I need help. Do I need to get a new reciever? How can I fix....help!

#2513 - 07/19/02 12:17 PM Re: Humm in system
Matthew Hill Offline
Desperado

Loc: Mount Laurel, NJ
First thing, try disconnecting your CATV line. If that fixes it, you've got a ground loop problem. A ground loop isolator in the line between the CATV and your system will fix it.

If that isn't it, then try disconnecting random things until it goes away. In particular, if you have different components connected to separate outlets that may be grounded differently, you can also have a problem there.

------------------
Matthew J. Hill
matt@idsi.net

#2514 - 07/19/02 12:38 PM Re: Humm in system
clombardi Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Here is more info....
I have a JVC 534V Receiver (I know cheap) with a JVC XL F154 CD player. I have two Corwin Vega (5A-150) rear speakers, a Corwin Vega (CC-250) center speaker, a Klipsch (KSW 100)Sub and two Klipsch (KG2 FB) floor speakers..

I just bought a Hitachi 61SWX12B (61" TV) with built in:Audio
MTS Stereo/SAP with dbxTM
Dolby Digital® 5.1/Dolby ProLogic® Surround Sound
60 Watt, 2-Way Bass Reflex Speaker System
Dual Center Channel Speakers
3 Listening Modes (Std., Night, Max.)
5-Band Graphic EQ
Dynamic Bass
Perfect Volume (Auto Volume Level Control)
Loudness
Automatic Noise Cancellation

And I just bought a set of Paradign 9SE's to replace the Klipsch floor speakers...What else should I do to make this a sound system that fits a 61" TV but at a reasonable cost. Remember I am component challenged.

#2515 - 07/19/02 03:08 PM Re: Humm in system
EFSIII Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Upstate, New York
Strictly for your consideration....