Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#167 - 07/08/01 05:58 AM Surround mode for VHS
Bryan Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: CA
I dont have a dvd player yet, I definitley plan on getting one to hook up with my 1050. When I hook my VCR up to my 1050, and play movies, the surround mode doesnt seem very pronounced. Almost like I'm not truly running surround. Basically, Im running the video direct to the TV and the Audio from the VCR to the Video 1 audio inputs on the 1050. The only way I get sound is when opt1 opt 2 and coax are all turned off. Is there something I'm not doing right?

Is there a suggested mode for true surround sound. I notice many of you dont like the DSP modes. I try surround mode, but I find Natural is better.

I'm really a newbie to all this component stuff. I just want to make sure I'm getting the optimal suround experience out of my 1050. My Speakers are Energy take 5's and an Energy subwoofer.

#168 - 07/08/01 11:30 AM Re: Surround mode for VHS
Alfer Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: USA
Bryan,
It seems you have everything hooked up right. I use "Normal Surround" for all my stuff, and the sound thru the VCR sounds fine.

I use Video1 as well,while in "Normal Surround" mode, and when I press the "Digital Input" button a few times, the symbol you should see is "Pro-Logic" light up.

I know this sounds like a dumb question, but are you playing a movie that is true surround sound and not perhaps a mono encoded movie? What VCR are you using? Is it HI-FI?

Let us know, and maybe we can think of some other possibilities.

Alfer

------------------
Check out my HT website: The Enormodome

Join Club Enormodome

Join Club Enormodome

#169 - 07/08/01 12:16 PM Re: Surround mode for VHS
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA