Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12909 - 04/20/04 03:37 PM speakers
e-dogg Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: OHIO
Are the Ascend CBM-170 speakers any good?

#12910 - 04/20/04 05:11 PM Re: speakers
Jason J Offline
Desperado

Loc: Northern Garden State
I have no personal experience with them but here are some reviews from the web:

www.ecoustics.com/s.php?search=Ascend+CBM-170+

They seem to be mainly positive in nature.

#12911 - 04/21/04 12:15 AM Re: speakers
Cadboy Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
I have'em and love'em! They are very neutral and accurate speakers. They definitely benefit by using a quality sub (such as the LFM-1 or HSU subs). There is a forum run by Ascend owners: www.ascendforum.com. The founder of Ascend, David Fabrikant, can be found lurking around there as well. Great bunch of posters, like here. what is not evident by going to the Ascend Acoustics website is some of the new offerings they have......the new 340 center is also available as L/R mains w/matching stands!
Check it out!

#12912 - 04/26/04 08:57 AM Re: speakers
e-dogg Offline
Gunslinger

In reading the spec sheet on the CBM_170 they brag about using the finest electronic componets in thier large crossover for the speaker. I have always heard a smaller crossover is prefered for more accurate sound. Is this wrong?

#12913 - 04/26/04 09:24 AM Re: speakers
soundhound Offline
Desperado

Loc: Gusev Crater, Mars
Quote:
Originally posted by e-dogg:
In reading the spec sheet on the CBM_170 they brag about using the finest electronic componets in thier large crossover for the speaker. I have always heard a smaller crossover is prefered for more accurate sound. Is this wrong?

In this case, I don't think "size" matters.

#12914 - 04/26/04 10:04 AM Re: speakers
Cadboy Offline
Gunslinger