Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#12070 - 11/13/03 04:14 PM Home Theater Power
Oil Can Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Shelbyville, KY, USA
The time has come to run dedicated power to my home theater. I will probably run one twenty-amp circuit, or split the PS Audio Power Port and run two separate circuits. That way I can have one circuit for digital components, and one for analog components. Code here in my part of Illinois is that all exposed wiring must be in conduit. I figure that I can run four conductors that are 10 AWG in one-inch conduit, and not run into any problems. I would like to use a cable that has the wire pairs twisted to help cancel any induced noise. Any information, or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

#12071 - 11/13/03 09:59 PM Re: Home Theater Power
Hullguy Offline
Desperado

Loc: South Weymouth, MA USA
It is a electrical code requiring pipe for your circuits in your house!!!
I've been a Master Electrician for 20 years in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Running #10 wire is good if you have a long distance to run the wire for voltage drop. For a 20 amp circuit you only need #12 wire. According to the National Electrical code you can put 26 #12 or 16 #10 wires with THHN, (Thermoplastic High Heat Nylon), in a piece of 1" pipe. The THHN insulation is common and has a temperature rating of 90 degrees centigrade. I would use 3/4" EMT, (electrical metallic tubing) as my pipe for this job. You can install 16 #12 or 10 #10 wires in this size pipe. using 2 wires a circuit gives you a maximum of 8 circuits with #12 or 5 circuits with #10 wire. I highly recommend you pull a ground wire, sized the same as the wire you decide to use, in with the circuits. It's not required but it is a better job.

As far as induced noise is concerned, a properly installed piece of pipe will drain any voltages from out side the pipe.. It will not "clean" any noise already on the circuits supplied from the power company.