Outlaw model 978 vs. Emotiva XMC1

Posted by: happy2

Outlaw model 978 vs. Emotiva XMC1 - 02/18/12 11:34 PM

I'm just getting into separates, moving up from a Yamaha receiver to a Emotiva MPS-2 amp & had been on the list for the 997/998 to go along with it. My room has a lot of issues & it looks like Trinnov is the best solution, but Outlaw is having a hard time getting the 978 out, let alone the 998. Emotiva's TacT looks more promising than Audyssey.
Computer based high bit rate digital looks like the future for high end audio. Can music be streamed from your computer to the 978's DACs without using a seperate DAC like the HRT Music Streamer II? It looks like the XMC1 will offer streaming capability. Just wondering how important it is to have this built into the pre/pro?
Posted by: renov8r

Re: Outlaw model 978 vs. Emotiva XMC1 - 02/19/12 09:34 AM

The 978 features have included the ability to "feed" digital audio files to the onboard DAC from a computer via USB, such capability has existed in current Outlaw offerings. Of course the feature list and specific implementation has been "subject to change" forever...

I have not seen enough reviews to judge the effectiveness of TACT vs XT32, though I do not beleive either of them has the advanced capabilities of Trinnov when it comes to making adjustments to delay & phase to electronically "re-orient" the speakers into a virtual perfect placement...

I'm sure that both Emotiva and Outlaw are very aware of the comparisions that will be drawn between both of their products and the various design trade-offs that were made enroute. It ought to make some for interesting reviews when both are in the marketplace.
Posted by: 73Bruin

Re: Outlaw model 978 vs. Emotiva XMC1 - 02/19/12 12:33 PM