so, "what exactly, do ya do..."

Posted by: RedSIinPA

so, "what exactly, do ya do..." - 12/19/07 03:43 PM

what do you guys do for a living?

where ya from?

I live in SE Pennylvania - I'm a consulting systems analyst. I've worked on a lot of fairly large finance-related projects. I'm sort of off my beaten path working on a project known simply as "AC2" - Advanced Control Center - which is a project underway at PJM Interconnection, an overseer of sorts of the power generation, transmission and distribution companies in the NE US.

I work on Energy Management Systems and with our QA team. Can't really say much more than that.
Posted by: Alexandru Mihaita

Re: so, "what exactly, do ya do..." - 12/19/07 04:14 PM

Red,

I'm a software architect, doing all sort of things in the IT field, team leader/player or one-army-man, as needed. If you go to www.globalinsight.com you'll see what my work materialized in most recently. I'm not saying that all that web site is written by me alone, God forbid, I don't want to offend my colleagues. There are other pieces of software working deep inside the company's server farm that have my fingerprints on them.

I live in Springfield, PA, 10 miles from Philly, Red, we might be able to shake hands.

My most important "project" is my 6 years old daughter, which, of course, is my top-ranked passion as well smile
Posted by: BloggingITGuy

Re: so, "what exactly, do ya do..." - 12/19/07 05:13 PM

I'm in IT security for a company (Corillian/Checkfree/Fiserv) that does online banking, billpay, ACH transactions and a lot of other things related to money.

I live in Beaverton, OR.

Interestingly, I used to work as an IT guy for a small company in Fremont CA that installed and maintained EMS in the area, mostly for schools. They were the area's dealer for Alerton, which is now part of Novar, which is now part of Honeywell.
Posted by: gonk

Re: so, "what exactly, do ya do..." - 12/19/07 07:20 PM

Quote:
what do you guys do for a living?