Novice...excited to learn!!!

Posted by: Batibot

Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 12:17 PM

I'm a novice, idiot and dumb as far as home theater component is concern. Please! help me on what to buy for my 1st and the best home theater component. Scenario to be considered...I live in a townhouse, prefer small speakers (Bose?)not to overwhelme my small dig. Thanks! from the new Billy the Kid confused:
Posted by: michaelstano

Re: Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 01:04 PM

Reading postings in this forum will, if you are like me, whet your appetite for things you can't afford.

Are you starting with zero? No TV, speakers, receiver, etc.? If so, give us some details on budget, room size, listening tastes, etc.--a $1000 budget for a small living room will result in different recommendations than a $10K+ budget for a dedicated grand-scale home theatre.

[Not to start anything, but please, please, please listen to some speakers other than Bose before buying.]

Re: Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 01:34 PM

Thanks for the quick reply, michaelstano.

I have a TV,DVD/CVR, no speakers but I want start from scratch. My Budget is around $3000 for the home theater alone. The theather will be set on a 15 ft x 13 ft. area. My listening taste varies with my mood...i can go rock, classical, & jazz.
Posted by: Spiker

Re: Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 01:35 PM

Batibot,

For speakers, you want the best bang for your buck? Get kit speakers. Check out this saloon: http://ubb.outlawaudio.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/000280.html

Based on discussions in the saloon, Bose may not be a wise choice.
Posted by: SpOoNmAn

Re: Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 03:16 PM

No Bose!! Don't go down that evil path!

------------------
Play it LoUd!!
Posted by: Lasher

Re: Novice...excited to learn!!! - 10/10/03 03:39 PM