model 200 compatability

Posted by: nicodim55

model 200 compatability - 09/27/03 07:58 PM

I'm thinking of buying 2 model 200 amps. to power my 2 fronts (POLK RTI50). My question is can anyone tell me if I can hook them up with my SONY RECEIVER 4ES? The 4es has a pre outs for fronts, center, rear, etc. I don't want to buy them if they are not compatible. I'm new with separates. Also, if it does work if I want to listen to 2 channel music I know that the amps will power the fronts but if I want to watch movies in surround will the amps and the receiver work simultaneously so that I can get a 6.1 effects? I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but if anyone can educate me on this matter I really appreciate it. Thanks nicodim55
Posted by: bestbang4thebuck

Re: model 200 compatability - 09/28/03 02:51 PM

I do not own the same compliment of equipment that you do, but I would say that you have a better than 90% chance that the m-200's are compatable. Remember, you are not gambling much because the Outlaws give you a 30-day trial period in which you may return the 200's if you do not like the results. If you haven't yet, take a good look and a careful read of the M200 manual elsewhere on this web site.

http://pdf.outlawaudio.com/outlaw/docs/200manual.pdf

Most people, unless they end up buying used equipment or something costing much more new, like and keep their Outlaw products.

Also, the amplification built into a receiver for speaker outputs should continue to operate for either all channels, or at the very least, operate for any channel where the pre-outs remain in the original/default configuration. Adding external amplification to the L & R main pre-outs should not, in and of itself, disrupt the operation of any channel where the pre-amp signal path remains uniterrupted.

If you wish to disable amplification for certain channels, you may, on some receivers, be able to remove jumpers or make switch/menu selections to do so.
Posted by: gonk