950 and blu-ray sound connection

Posted by: ews

950 and blu-ray sound connection - 10/16/08 04:14 AM

I am looking to buy a blu-ray player with 7.1 analog outs and was wondering about audio connections with the 950. I have my Pioneer DV-47Ai connected to the 950 with a coaxial connection for audio and I am using amplifiers for my 7.1 setup for sound. Can I just connect the blu-ray player to the 950 via coaxial connections and leave everything else the way it is? And, will that allow the new audio formats to be used? I am a major amateur when it comes to these things (thought the 950 has and is an amazing piece of equipment and I was proud to get everything set up and have it work smile ) and would appreciate any help people can give me to make sure I don't buy something that may not be compatible with my setup. thanks.
Posted by: gonk

Re: 950 and blu-ray sound connection - 10/16/08 04:40 AM

The coaxial audio connection will carry only the core DD and DTS tracks - it will not allow access to the new audio formats. To get those, you will need to have a player with onboard decoding and a multichannel analog output. Since the Model 950's multichannel analog input is 5.1, you have a few extra options. For example, Panasonic's BD50 is being replaced by the BD55 (in part because the BD50 has a 5.1 analog out instead of 7.1) and might be available for a nice price in the coming weeks as BD55's start to ship.

Oh, there's a link in my sig to an HDMI FAQ. You may or may not find it of use when delving into the world of Blu-ray and HDMI...

Re: 950 and blu-ray sound connection - 10/17/08 10:08 PM

Thanks for the info. The BD55 was one of the players I was looking at so does that mean I would use the player to decode the new formats? Could you explain how that would be set up with the 950 and the connections that are available. If it can work with the 950 I'm ready to buy that player tommorrow.

ed
Posted by: pcreel

Re: 950 and blu-ray sound connection - 10/22/08 04:33 PM