Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#16037 - 06/14/06 12:24 AM Over The Air HDTV Audio
Quagh Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Charlotte
This might sound like a silly question but hey! I'm a newbie! You're supposed to expect these sorts of questions from me!

I use a Sony TV with a built in HD tuner. When using the optical out source to my 990 so I can enjoy the HD picture, I can't get anything other than 2 channel sound. Is this just a limitation of over the air HD signals? I can't readily find any info on this out there after a quick search. If there is anyone else out there that is getting HD this way have you experienced the same?

Can someone please enlighten me on this situation? I'm too cheap right now to buy an HD Tivo for Direct TV so this is my set-up for now. (I spent too much on my Outlaw gear!)

#16038 - 06/14/06 07:39 AM Re: Over The Air HDTV Audio
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Over-the-air HD is capable of carrying up to Dolby Digital 5.1, but it depends on the source material (generally the only times I would expect to see a DD 5.1 signal would be for prime time broadcasts, and even then it's not necessarily a sure bet) and it requires that the broadcasting station's hardware supports DD 5.1. I just ran through all my OTA HD channels, and at the moment (6:30 in the morning) they're all broadcasting in DD 2.0. It's the same for the HD stations delivered by my cable provider. TNT-HD and Discovery HD both broadcast in 5.1 almost all the time, but they're not available OTA.

Basically, what you're running into is pretty common. You may want to try some recently-produced prime time material and see if they're broadcasting that with DD 5.1. For the cases where it's DD 2.0, though, I end up apply Pro Logic IIx to get surround.

#16039 - 06/14/06 09:14 AM Re: Over The Air HDTV Audio
Quagh Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Charlotte