Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12347 - 01/16/04 03:18 PM biamping VMPS RM40 with 770 and tube amp
threers Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: vienna, va usa
Hello,
I need help from all you experts. I recently acquired these speakers along with an Acoustic Research VT 100 (the original) amp at a very reasonable price. These are probably "higher end" then Outlaw 950, but the price was too good to pass up. I want to see if I can make this work. VPMS comes with a switch that allows biamping without external crossover. One set of terminals goes to 2 woofers and the other set goes to the midrange and the super tweeter. Can I use 2 channels of 770 to drive the woofers and ARC VT100 to drive the mids and up using 950 as preamp? If so, how do I set up the two amps? Do I need some sort of input gain control device between the amps and 950? In addition, how do you connect ICBM when you biamp the front speakers?

As you can see, I am new at the "audiophile" stuff. Any advice is welcome and please don't assume that I know anything.

Thank you,

#12348 - 01/16/04 04:29 PM Re: biamping VMPS RM40 with 770 and tube amp
soundhound Offline
Desperado

Loc: Gusev Crater, Mars
You would really need to know what the crossover network requirements of your speakers are (what crossover frequency etc) and what the nature of the crossover is that is included in the amplifier. You will need level controls on at least one of the amplifiers (the one with the highest gain), and you will need some way to determine what the response is that you are achieiving (like an RTA program and a calibrated microphone). It is not a straight forward exercise to actively bi-amp any speaker, and there is some technical expertise required. If you decide to proceed, just be careful about what you are doing, as you can easily blow the drivers in the speaker system if you hook things up wrong.

#12349 - 01/16/04 07:04 PM Re: biamping VMPS RM40 with 770 and tube amp