Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#12781 - 03/31/04 12:58 PM Opinions on Philips Pronto TS1000?
CBWills Offline
Gunslinger

My boss gave me one to see if I liked it(a reward for filling in for my supervisor who went on vacation recently). I'd like to hear some views by some fellow gunslingers. I don't have to keep it if I don't want it, and I can get a different one for around $200.
I've seen Gonk's raves about the MX500, and Bluedo.com has a package deal of a MX500 and the IR Clone programmer that looks good.
Any ideas?

------------------
The answer to Life, the Universe and Everything is 42. But what IS the Question?

#12782 - 03/31/04 02:02 PM Re: Opinions on Philips Pronto TS1000?
desperado Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Hawaii
You should check out Remote Central which has reviews of this remote and many others. I have no experience with the Pronto however I think the lack of physical buttons makes its use a little more difficult. With physical buttons you learn which buttons to press by the feel without even looking at the remote. With a touch screen I would think you would almost always need to look at the screen. I just bought a Harmony SST-659 which I really like. You can check out my review in the signature below. It cost only $130 from several online stores so you can buy a few DVD's with the extra cash. Of course the MX500 also has buttons so perhaps you would like that one as well.

------------------
Desperado - 1050 Owner - Reviews - Harmony SST-659 Remote

#12783 - 03/31/04 02:14 PM Re: Opinions on Philips Pronto TS1000?
CBWills Offline
Gunslinger

desperado,
I did look at Remote Central and read the user's reviews. The LCD screen does concern me(I have a Kameleon, and having to look at the remote to press buttons can be distracting). Hovering above the buttons before pressing was mentioned as a weakness by one user of the TS1000.