Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#12765 - 03/25/04 09:37 AM I'm new at this
DanWhy Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: PA
Hi everyone! I am new at the home theater game and I want to start out right. I have decided to go with the 950/755 combo. I intend to mate that with the LFM-1 and Paradigm Studio 60's up front. Could some of you with greater experience suggest a center channel and rear surrounds?

There seems to be so much info I become over-loaded at times and a bit confused. Any and all advise would help.

Thanks...The New Guy

#12766 - 03/25/04 12:19 PM Re: I'm new at this
JMS Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: NE Ohio
Dan,

Great start. My two rear speakers are unfortunatly inferior to the three up front. (I also run an lfm-1 for the .1) Everytime I listen to certain sacd's with intentional discrete information on those two rear channels, i.e. Beck's "Sea Change" I am aware that they don't sound the same! I say: use five equal speakers. Note: I'm not even recommending a particular speaker. IMHO, it's more important that there is a synergy created by equality. Don't mix n' match!

Jay

#12767 - 03/25/04 12:30 PM Re: I'm new at this
DanWhy Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Thanks Jay,

I have received similar advice at local A/V stores. But, like a lot of us space is a concern.

Dan

Quote:
Originally posted by JMS:
Dan,

Great start. My two rear speakers are unfortunatly inferior to the three up front. (I also run an lfm-1 for the .1) Everytime I listen to certain sacd's with intentional discrete information on those two rear channels, i.e. Beck's "Sea Change" I am aware that they don't sound the same! I say: use five equal speakers. Note: I'm not even recommending a particular speaker. IMHO, it's more important that there is a synergy created by equality. Don't mix n' match!

Jay

#12768 - 03/25/04 01:16 PM Re: I'm new at this
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA