Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#78295 - 01/28/09 12:15 AM Need an explanation!
Gnoc Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Texas
Hello all,
I am a lurker in the Outlaw area and I am trying to figure something out. I am a hobbyist and have not upgraded for 4 years.

I have a Denon 7.1 receiver (4 years ago it was about $1200 not sure of the model... 3801?).

I have eyed the amplifiers here, but how does that work? I would still need to use my Denon, correct? How do I stop using the Denon amplifier and use the 7700?

Just curious. Would I hear a difference?

Thanks

#78296 - 01/28/09 12:53 AM Re: Need an explanation!
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Yes, you would still need the Denon. On the rear panel of the receiver, there is a group of outputs called "pre-amp outputs". It's not available on all receivers, but above a certain price point it is standard - and the $1200 price point qualifies as above that price point. By connecting an amplifier like the 7700 or 7200 to the pre-amp outputs on the receiver, you would cease to use the receiver's built-in amps to power your speakers and would instead use the separate amp. (That means that when you hook the amp up you'll also need to move the speaker connections from the receiver's binding posts to the amp's binding posts.)