Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#34656 - 01/31/04 06:15 PM LFM1 and stereo music
Raider Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Cleveland, TN
OK it is time for my stupid question but I am here to learn. Just received the LFM 1; does the subwoofer come on with stereo music played on a CD player with analog inputs only? I am using a DELOS test disc with freq from 160 down to 20hz. At 34 Hz my front speakers fizzle (as is to be expected) but I do not "hear" or feel any bass below 34Hz. Can some one help me. I am crossovered at 40Hz. Does subwoofer only come into play on the 6 channel and DVD discs only? Help I am a subwoofer novice.

#34657 - 01/31/04 06:49 PM Re: LFM1 and stereo music
Alejate Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Albany, NY
I do not own the LFM-1, but let me try to trouble shoot this. I am assuming you have the 950, go into its set up menu and see if you have set the subwoofer to "on." Is your sub plugged into a "live" outlet? Is your sub set for "auto on?" Is your cable plugged into the correct output of the 950? Have you increased the sub trim level on the 950? How high is the sub's volume level? Your sub should work on all inputs unless your have set your mains to "large" and have selected "bypass."

#34658 - 01/31/04 08:13 PM Re: LFM1 and stereo music
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Raider -- the sub's role in CD playback will be based on what your receiver or pre/pro is doing, as Alejate has touched on. In a stereo bypass mode or with a six-channel analog input, the sub would not be used (unless you have a 950 and have it configured in a certain way). When using a digital input to receiver or pre/pro, the bass management settings will rule; in that case, the sub would be used if the mains are set to "small".

------------------
gonk -- Saloon Links | Pre/Pro Comparison Chart | 950 Review

#34659 - 01/31/04 08:45 PM Re: LFM1 and stereo music
Raider Offline
Gunslinger