Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#3262 - 12/23/02 01:55 PM 5.1 CH Direct Question
bcushman Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Warwick, RI, U.S.A.
Please don't throw stones at me but I am a newbie when it comes to audio. Can you explain to me what the 5.1 CH Direct does? I have tried to find it in the manual with no success. I am using my Outlaw with a Sony DirecTV/Tivo which I just bought particularly so that I can listen to those offerings broadcast in 5.1. I know that in order to hear it in DD 5.1 I have to put it in the surround sound mode - would the 5.1 CH Direct do the same thing?

So much to learn, and so little time to do it!! Many thanks.

Bruce

#3263 - 12/23/02 02:01 PM Re: 5.1 CH Direct Question
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
The 5.1 direct is a six-channel (left, right, center, left surround, right surround, subwoofer) analog input -- six analog connections -- that is used mainly for DVD-Audio and SACD players. DVD-Audio and SACD both have to output an analog signal rather than digital due to copy protection concerns.

The DirecTV/TIVO you have should have a digital audio output (either a single coaxial - "RCA" - output or an optical output) that can be connected to one of the digital inputs on the 1050. Once you do that, the 1050 can process Dolby Digital 5.1 for you when a Dolby Digital signal is available.

------------------
gonk -- Saloon Links | Pre/Pro Comparison Chart | 950 Review

#3264 - 12/23/02 02:05 PM Re: 5.1 CH Direct Question
m-mmeyer Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Chanhassen, MN, USA
Typically the 5.1 direct inputs are used for a DVD-audio or SACD player. Current copyright laws do not allow those players to output their high resolution tracks via digital outputs. You can also use the inputs for regular DVD if your player has the output. Most people use a digital (ie ptical or coax) for DVD playback.

------------------
m-mmeyer
GO TWINS
My DVD's