Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#23199 - 02/11/04 02:02 PM Recommendations for wiring
Philip Martin Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Houston, TX
After much contemplation, I am about to pull the purchase trigger on a 950/770 combo. I would like purchase all the cables needed to wire the system. Would you please inform me as to the number and type of cables I will be needing to wire the following components?

Outlaw 950
Outlaw 770
Denon 2900
Toshiba TW65G80
RCA Satellite Receiver (Direct TV)

Speakers for the system are Def Tech BP 2000s, CLR 1000 and BP20s. Can you suggest an optimal wiring configuration for the 2000s which have built in 300 w amps?
As you can most likely guess, I am no expert when it comes to stereo equipment. So, any assistance you can offer will be most appreciated.

#23200 - 02/11/04 03:34 PM Re: Recommendations for wiring
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
AUDIO:
The obvious is the pre-amp to amp (950 to 770) cabling -- if you are going to be using all seven channels of the 770 (seven speakers), you'll need seven analog audio cables.

The Denon supports DVD-Audio and SACD, so you'll want a set of (6) analog audio interconnects for that. You'll also want a digital audio cable for the 2900 (either optical or coaxial, it doesn't really matter which).

The RCA satellite receiver probably has a digital audio output, which would be the preferred way to hook it to the 950. You'll need to check to see if it is optical or coaxial. If you're not sure, buy one optical and one coaxial -- whichever doesn't work can be used with the Denon, since it supports both. At least one RCA DirecTV receiver includes both coax and optical digital audio output, but older DirecTV receivers don't have any digital audio output, in which case you'll need a pair of analog audio cables to connect the RCA to the 950.