Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#67470 - 02/01/08 08:31 PM Outlaw 990 purchasing questions
Random Guy Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Ok, so I'm brand new to this forum and fairly new to the upper...um... not so best buyish home theater market. This year is the upgrade of the home theater sound system, and I would like some opinions and thoughts about IF my system will work and IF it is a good idea to do it like this. Here goes smile
I would like to use an Outlaw 990 as my processor with either a set of 3 Onkyo M282 amps for power or an Emotiva LPA1. I don't really know if dumping a bunch of money into my cables and such is worth it, I've never used high end stuff like this before. I am looking to eventually go to a Paradigm Monitor 9/11 setup, but my first priority is the electronics involved. I used to sell home theater equipment at a local sound shop, so I have *used* Denon, Onkyo, Pioneer Elite, Polk and Paradigm speakers. I know this post isn't very informative and I kind of expect a zillion questions about it, but thanks for your help in advance!!! laugh

#67471 - 02/01/08 09:18 PM Re: Outlaw 990 purchasing questions
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
I'm not terribly familiar with the Onkyo M282. It looks like a 2x105W amp, and as such would probably do a pretty respectable job driving Paradigm Monitors. At a list price of $300 each and street prices that look to range from $200 to $280, though, I'd consider pairing the 990 with an Outlaw 7075 or 7125 instead. Combo pricing with the 990 would save you $100 in either case.

I'd recommend some restraint in what you spend on cables. There are some very good quality cables available (particularly online distributors such as Blue Jeans Cables and even Outlaw) that are worth investing in, but don't get carried away. Heck, you can even take a cue from a long-time forum resident (recently returned to us) and make your own ...