Topic Options
#65505 - 06/09/07 04:09 PM Satellite Tuners
Dr_JB Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Ontairo, Canada
Hi,

Yesterday I had a chance to listen to a system which included one of these:

http://www.magnumdynalab.com/xmtuners-overview.htm

I'm sure there are many choices, in terms of products.

My question is: do any of you have experience with satellite radio and, if so, how do you like it, do you think it's a worth while investment?

thanks,

John

#65506 - 06/09/07 08:05 PM Re: Satellite Tuners
cp1966 Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Minneapolis
I have Directv, which includes some XM channels. I dont listen to them very often though, just periodically.

The sound is good, but I have no experience in something like this.
Panasonic TC-P65S1 65" Plasma HDTV, Marantz AV 8801 Preamp, Outlaw 7700 Amp, Klipsch RF7 (X-over dean G modded) RC7 (X-over Dean G modded) RS7 CDT-5800C speakers, Outlaw LFM1 EX Subwoofer, Oppo BDP-93, B & O Turntable, Toshiba HD-A2, Sony CD & DVD 400 disc jukeboxes, DirecTV HD-DVR, PS2, PS3, Wii, Harmony one remote, Monster PowerBar 1200 for the TV, sub, PS3, HD DVD and Wii, Tripp Lite Isolation Bar for the Amp, Pre-Amp and other sources.

#65507 - 06/10/07 02:08 AM Re: Satellite Tuners
evan Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: ny
I just hooked up a syrius tuner to my 990 because I coould not get fm reception, sounds great to me, I also have it in my car so for about 20 bucks a mmonth for the 2 hook ups isnt bad

#65508 - 06/10/07 02:53 PM Re: Satellite Tuners
Otto Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Longmont, Colorado
Hey Dr_JB,

I have a Sirius "Sportster", which is one of the portable receivers. I bought it about 2.5 years ago, and I only use it in my home system. Sound quality is OK, but you can tell it's lossy. We primarily use it for background music in the house when we don't feel like making a playlist. It's on a lot of the time.