Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#65162 - 04/18/07 06:55 PM Outlaw 990 vs Emotiva MMC-1
Matt Faske Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Louisville, KY
Hello All!

There's a thread on this topic that I've been following on the 970 section, but since I'm interested in the 990 I thought I would start a new one here.

I've been listening to a Parasound P/SP-1500 for ten years now, and the surround processing is sooo outdated that I think it's time to update my system.

I'm on the fence between the Outlaw 990 and the Emotiva MMC-1. I've concluded that they are both great processors, equally priced and comparable in sound quality. I will probably be content with either, but I'm struggling with my decision. Here are a few features that really stand out on each side:

Outlaw:
1. The 990 has the auto-setup with the microphone, a feature I feel I could really use. I build speakers for a hobby, so I'm changing out my speakers a lot. I think the microphone calibration will be a great timesaver for me.

2. I have an amp with balanced XLR input. Is xlr superior to rca?

3. Finally, from what I understand, the Outlaw has superior Bass Management. Not sure how superior, or how much that will benefit me.

Now for the Emotiva:
1. 40% upgrade discount to existing customers. Wow, that's a lot. With technology changing as fast as it is, I'm sure that in just a few short years there will be all sorts of new surround processing features that I'll want. Or I could be wrong... The question here is, when new technology comes out, will I want my next upgrade to be Emotiva?

2. Blue lights and HDMI. Mood lights might impress my girlfriend.

I'm asking for opinions that might help sway me in my decision. I thought about ordering both and sending one back, but I hate to do that to either of these fine companies.

Thanks to you all!

#65163 - 04/18/07 08:58 PM Re: Outlaw 990 vs Emotiva MMC-1
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA