Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#63271 - 12/26/06 06:52 PM sorry im a NewB.. and thinknin of buying this unit
bocapimp Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: South Florida
Im just wondering if 90% of my sources are only HDMI and this unit doesnt support it what am i to do? everyone tells me that the 990 is the best audio pre amp out there, but its missing the 1080p side, so is there something else i can buy to do the video side of a pre amps job? to support the 1080p of my sources? (ie... projector,bluray,hdvd,ps3,xbox 360) ?

#63272 - 12/26/06 07:23 PM Re: sorry im a NewB.. and thinknin of buying this unit
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
The 990's DVI switching will work with 1080p HDMI video, it just won't get the audio from HDMI (which actually only comes into play with Blu-ray or HD-DVD, and even then only really makes much difference if you dn't have multichannel analog output on the player or have something else using the multichannel analog input). I've got an HDMI FAQ in my sig with a good overview of the situation with HDMI.

What's your equipment list? You mention a projector, Blu-ray and PS3 (separate units or the PS3 for BR?), HD-DVD, and an Xbox360. If we have a full list, we can tell you what limitations you might run into with the 990 - and what limitations you might be anticipating that the 990 can actually do just fine.

#63273 - 12/26/06 07:29 PM Re: sorry im a NewB.. and thinknin of buying this unit
bocapimp Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Equiptment List

Projector : Vpl-Vw50 (sony pearl)

Sources :
Sony BDP-S1 (bluray Stand Alone Player)
Toshiba HSXA2 (demo unit)
Sony PS3
Xbox 360
HTPC (comming soon, prolly going Cellar Cinemas)
Buttkicker LFE

Amp : ATI-2007

Speakers : Klipsch THX ultra 2 system

#63274 - 12/26/06 11:46 PM Re: sorry im a NewB.. and thinknin of buying this unit
gonk Offline
Desperado