Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#60872 - 06/14/06 11:00 AM another lip sync delay question
cappra Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Glendale, Arizona
I have never used the lip sync delay before, since I never had a piece of equipment that had it! I have been using a Sanyo Z1 projector for the past three years and have never noticed a lip sync problem. I have played around with the delay on the 990 and I'm not sure if I need the delay or not. I try to watch the sync with the voices, but can't get a handle on it. Is there some positive way to check that you have the audio synced with the video?

#60873 - 06/14/06 11:08 AM Re: another lip sync delay question
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
The best way I know of is just to watch and listen. If you don't feel like there's a mis-match between dialog and people's mouths, then you don't have a sync problem (or at least not enough of one to warrant adjustment). When I first adjusted for a bit of delay introduced by my Yamaha player, I happened to be watching something that had a scene where a pencil was being tapped on a desk and that was what I used for making adjustments. I can't even recall what that scene was from right now, though, and when I've made adjustments for other sources I've used dialog and tweaked until it looked right. From what you've said, though, I suspect your video signal path is currently not introducing a measurable delay.

#60874 - 06/14/06 11:44 AM Re: another lip sync delay question
PodBoy Offline
Gunslinger

Here's a hint I got from a very notable engineer/designer who works on broadcast and post production equipment: Watch a scene where there are close ups and pay special attention to the lips (DUH!). Listen carefully for when the person stops talking and then see if their lips continue to move. Put that scene on A-B repeat in your player and adjust the delay until everything is in sync.

#60875 - 06/14/06 12:26 PM Re: another lip sync delay question