Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#60224 - 05/17/06 12:31 AM Re: 990 vs H/K 635 vs Arcam AVP700
tmdlp Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Big D, Tx
Asx - TommyBoy,
For the last couple of day's i have been wandering what 990 Asx was using. I have been playin 2 channel jazz and classical (mostly Telarc and Grammaphone recording) and have not noticed what Asx was describing.
I figured I have heard enough equipment to surely hear what Asx was describing (Dahlquist, Magnepan, Mark levinson, CJ, Krell, Rotel, Adcom, Snell, Axiom, Aperion, PSB, B&W, etc.).

So i started playing. On the 990 - first i killed (setup=none) the sub. Set the paradigm ref60v3's to large. Set 2ch = 0
music, music .... bass mmm.?!?!? I wanted something extended but not movie fake.
i thru in a jazz funk band named FOUR80East (Nocturnal) in the player(hooked up via rca digital into the 990).
I spun cut #5 and set it to A-B repeat on just the first 30-40 sec.

I have always had the Tone Defeat=On. So i listened to Bypass and Upsampling. Good as always.
Then i turned Tone Defeat = Off.
I was expecting no real change. I mean nothing really noticeable. But sure enough - the bass was exaggerated and i can see where 'muddy' could be used as a description.
And the image seemed cut down and subdued. The drums/cymbals where compressed in. where’s the image?
I flipped the Tone Defeat = On: The imaged opened up and the bass settled down. crazy – no?!?!?!

This is my 2 cents worth……..

Cappra: Play something in stereo or upsampling. On the 990 unit, push ‘tone’. If it is =on – then that should pop up (Tone Defeat = on). Other wise you should see bass. Push ‘Tone’ button until you see Tone Defeat. Push the up/down key. ‘On’ should replace ‘Off’. You are good to go.

#60225 - 05/17/06 02:49 AM Re: 990 vs H/K 635 vs Arcam AVP700
cappra Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Glendale, Arizona
tmdlp,