Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#57468 - 01/29/06 04:19 PM Needing Advice
Kev Fletcher Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: San Antonio TX
I am new to outlaw products but so far I am impressed. I would like advice on which preamp would be most affective with my home theatre. I have looked at the 970, 990, and the 1070. Since I have the Carver amps bridged mono, I have more than enough power in my house. I would assume that the 1070 is not needed for wattage. I looked at the Sunfire since it was Carver; I have read several reviews that were not the norm for Bob Carver. Does anyone have any advice? I also take it that I will no longer need the Yamaha processor when using the 970 or the 990. Is that correct? Some good advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
I have the following equipment.

Carver C1 preamp
2 carver m-t1.0 bridge amps,
Polk Audio 1.2TL
Polk Audio PSW650
Polk Audio FXi30 Rear
Polk Audio CSi30 Center
Yamaha dspe-492 Processor
50" Plasma
Phillips DVD
Samsung sir360directv hd receiver, will be upgrading to an hdtv dvr

#57469 - 01/29/06 05:16 PM Re: Needing Advice
AndrewS Offline
Gunslinger

You are looking at either the 970 or 990. Both of these are 7 channel preamp/processors - which means you can do away with your Carver preamp and your Yamaha processor.

You will still be able to use your amps - the 970 has unbalanced (RCA) outputs while the 990 has unbalanced (RCA) and balanced (XLR) outputs. If your amp has balanced inputs, it's another thing to consider.

#57470 - 01/29/06 05:17 PM Re: Needing Advice
Doug917 Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Shawnee, KS
Kevin,

You would not need the Yamaha processor any longer. Not sure on the channels/specs of your amps, but if you want the best sound, go for the 990. I would take the 990 over the Sunfire. The Sunfire is much more expensive and not sure it would provide that much additional performance.

#57471 - 01/30/06 11:15 AM Re: Needing Advice
gonk Offline
Desperado