Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#55708 - 08/25/05 01:20 PM Surround & Rear Channels & the 990
bobby c Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Silver Spring, MD
Hi,

First off, I've had the 990 for a couple of months, I really like the unit, especially since buying the Harmony 880 remote. The 990 is in a rack in my newly built dedicated home theater, I use a projector, a 100" screen, a 7.1 speaker setup, and lots of sound treatment. For the first couple of months, I used the 990 on occasion as I finished off the room (room treatments, riser, etc.). Now that I'm done (& have dedicated chairs), I'm really enjoying my system.

I am new to multi-channel processing, for about 30 years I've invested a lot of time & money in 2 channel so a 7.1 system is completely new to me. I'm having a bit of an issue with balance in my system, I think I know what to do but I thought I'd run it by here. The issue is less with the 990 than with speaker & chair placement.

Because of an obstruction in the wall, my sourround speakers are a bit further back than I'd like. When I did a sound calibration in the room, I placed the mike in-between the 1st & 2nd row of chairs so no row would be overly favored by a balanced sound. What I found is that we seldom use the 2nd row (4 chairs) and in the first row, I wasn't getting much benefit (read: sound) from the surround and rear speakers. So I knew I needed to balance things out a bit so I re-calibrated with the mike at the listening position in the first row. After watching/listening again, I find that the movement of the mike forward (maybe a couple of feet) didn't help as much as I thought it would.

So my question is what would be your approach in helping the situation? I could move the mike forward again & do an auto calibration or I could go into the speaker setup area and play with the settings of the speakers. If I do that, would it be better to dial the front/centers down or up the rear/surrounds?