Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#55489 - 08/01/05 11:52 AM Upgrade dilema
Houghers Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Sacramento
Hi all,

I'm a newb to the Hideout, as my member number clearly illustrates, but I've been exceedingly impressed with the members in this forum. A vast majority of HT forums house some rather opinionated individuals who gaurd their beliefs devoutly - even violently as far as verbage is concerned. Because of the lucid nature of the Outlaw fans, I figure I could get some great advice from all of you (especially you, Gonk - I'm thoroughly impressed) on an upcoming upgrade.

I recently purchased my new display and the wife and I are making the jump to HD. However, my severely inadequte receiver (Denon AVR 3802) has only 2 component inputs. With an Xbox and DVD player taking up these two inputs, there is obviouly no room left to make the most of HDTV (as far as using the video-switching capabilities are concerned). As an HT enthusiast, this isn't really a problem since the wife is agreeable to my upgrade bug. However, she won't tolerate constant upgrades, so I have to find something that is upgradeable.

This brings me to the 990. My budget is hovering around $2500 for a new receiver or pre/pro/amp stack. There are plenty of receivers out there that can fill this bill. However, not may pre/pro/amp stacks in this areana - at least that are worth looking at. I've heard so many good things about Outlaw's products that I'm very interested in making the jump. However, here is my dilema: