I am not an electrical engineer, but a mechanical engineer with a decent amount of experience with data acquisition and a lot of good BS sessions with other EE's. My unconfirmed [open for more experience] thoughts:

Burn in is indeed an electrical charge alignment of the atoms in the make-up of the cable, alternating currents can do that. I believe its biggest influence is in the capacitance and inductance realm, which is critical. Low end cross-overs (i.e. low or high pass filters) are routinely just RC or RLC circuits, so if the cable has a varying inductance or capacitance, it can effect signal attenuation. Those being my understanding of the facts, I can't even being to imagine how small the contribution could be in a system with such low voltages and short cable runs. In a system running at 20 volts, with milli-amp current over 100 meter runs, though, you can see quite significant aliasing of mid to high frequency data.

As far as the 'little copper wire inside the components go, I tend to be in agreement. It does seems strange. My only thought is that extremely short solid conductor may perform very well, whereas longer (1 meter) flexible multi-strand cables are much more fickle. Obviously shielding is paramount, but it also is fairly remedial. If it is shielded, it is good for just about anything. But I could see why someone would feel strange about connecting a set of $100 cables to a $90 component with little bare copper connections inside.

My personal experience has been that cables which are correctly shielded perform better than those 'half-way' cables on the $5.00 rack. I have never done a good blind test, but then again I don't own any really expensive cables. Speaker wire is critical without question. Coarse wire from home depot sounds completely different from fine wire by Monster. Again, its an inductance phenomena, I would suspect.