Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#4597 - 07/04/04 04:18 AM Trouble with Dolby Digital signal on 1050
jprichar Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Folsom, CA, USA
I got my 1050 today in the mail... Everything is working well and sounding great save for Dolby Digital signals. The unit has no problem latching onto a DTS via the coax connection to my DVD player. DTS sounds incredible. Now the bad news, when I select DD 5.1 audio on any number of DVD's the 1050 won't latch on to the signal and goes to "Pro-Logic" mode with the "PCM" detected. I would expect it to see the "DIGITAL" on instead of "PCM". But then again I am very new to the unit... I don't have a center surround but I have the center surrond speaker set to "On" in the set up. I set the "Surr 6" off before I switched out of DTS and into a DD signal. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

#4598 - 07/04/04 03:06 PM Re: Trouble with Dolby Digital signal on 1050
icky_miky Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Selden, NY USA
The sages of the outlaw forums will undoubtedly assist you, but to help they will probably need to know how your source components are connected to the 1050.

-chris

#4599 - 07/04/04 05:35 PM Re: Trouble with Dolby Digital signal on 1050
jprichar Offline
Gunslinger

I have an Outlaw 1050 with all six speaker channels connected and turned on and a sub connected to LFE. The source is an Apex 2500(yuck I know) DVD player connected via a digital coax output cable to the digital coax input on the 1050. Now as I mentioned above this set up works super for encoded DTS movies. However when I switch the sound encoding on the DVD to "Dolby Digital 5.1" the 1050 goes into PCM mode and decodes it in "Pro-Logic". I just went out and picked up a digital optical cable (toslik) which I am going to try in place of the digial coax cable. I don't know why it would make any differnce but it is the only other thing I could think of to try. Any other ideas are welcome. Thanks.