Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Topic Options
#39793 - 09/24/02 08:11 PM LD hook-up on 950
ews Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: akron, ohio usa
I am fairly new to this and was wondering what is the best connection on the 950 for a LD with AC-3. I only a a few dolby digital discs but I am not sure if the 950 has an AC-3 connection or not. If not, will using a coaxial connection play 5.1 or not. I appreciate any help I can get. thanks.

#39794 - 09/24/02 08:33 PM Re: LD hook-up on 950
bobliinds Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Las Vegas, NV
You should connect your LD to the 950 with your digital coaxial. It WILL NOT play 5.1 from LD. You can only get that with an AC-3 outboard box between the LD and the Outlaw. The Outlaw does not take direct AC-3 output from the LD.

However, if you have one of the DTS-encoded LD's, those WILL work.

DO NOT connect the AC-3 output of the LD to ANYTHING on your Outlaw. IT WILL NOT WORK and it may blow your ears out if you don't have the volume low.

#39795 - 09/24/02 09:19 PM Re: LD hook-up on 950
ews Offline
Gunslinger

thanks,bobblinds, for the quick and more importantly, valuable safety information. My next question is since the Denon AVD-2000 I was using as my processor has a 6CH IN connector, can I run my AC-3RF connection from my LD to that and then connect to the 950's 5.1 channel analog input? I was running the connection from my LD into the Denon and then into a Citation Model4 and listened to my discs that way. Or is this not the same thing? (I know this must seem strange but I loved the sound on the Model 4. It was the first processor I ever owned.) thanks again

#39796 - 09/25/02 12:03 AM Re: LD hook-up on 950
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA