Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3855 - 04/07/03 10:06 PM 1050 great for 2 chan? & Surround spkr sugg? & Setup ?'s & Got a used one to sell?!?!
chrisser Offline
Deputy Gunslinger

Loc: Los Angeles, CA, USA
First, thanks for the great info on this site - great to see a bunch of folks excited about a product (reminds me of my Tivo early adopter days!).

I'm a newbie...

I just learned about Outlaw products, and am thinking about buying a 1050 because I want to purchase a good surround system to take advantage of DVDs. Also it sounds like it's well featured, plenty powerful (I live in an apt), sounds clean and great, and is well priced.

My setup...

Currently I have an early 90's top-o-the-line Sony ES receiver. It sounds great, but I hate how complicated it is. I like stuff simple. I also have a low-end Sony DVD player, Numark CDN88 dual-CD player/Technics mixer set-up, and Martin-Logan Script electrostatic speakers I use as mains (fyi, they have a 150W max input). I don't have any surrounds right now.

My listening prefs...

I listen to 2-channel stereo audio (from my DJ setup) primarily. I also like to listen to it LOUD. I haven't gotten that into DVDs yet, but have always wanted to hear the separation and soundscape that 5.1 (and 6.1) will allow - thus my interest in the 1050. However, my system is primarily for listening to electronic music.

My questions...

1) Given my listening prefs, should I even be focusing on the 1050? It sounds like a lot of people are really into it, but isn't it a little old now? Since I listen to two-channel primarily should I just be happy with my old high-quality ES receiver?