I would think that the three basic types of crossovers, passive, active and digital, would handle the division of frequencies in different ways. Not being a crossover designer, I may be speaking out of hand, but I’ll offer my thoughts in simplistic fashion for discussion.

If a single stream of data is divided by some means into two or more streams based on frequency, and then each stream put through the same type of D/A conversion, the resulting outputs, even if different in phase from the original input, would, in a decent design, still be properly in phase with each other.

Similarly with an active analog crossover, where the division of frequencies are usually made by complimentary resistor-capacitor networks in association with op-amps, there is a phase shift, but my understanding is that all frequencies shift in the same direction, and at the point of crossover, by the same amount. The points of crossover are the most important, where some small portion of the signal will be sent in two directions and would hopefully be reproduced in phase with each other.

Passive crossovers, now there’s a different animal. At each crossover point, both a capacitor and a coil are usually used in the division of frequencies, the phase shift being in opposite directions. Depending on the complexity or simplicity of the crossover, if the output to one driver leaves the crossover in near opposite phase to another, one driver may be wired to the crossover in opposing phase to another driver in order to help restore the proper phase relationship of the moving drivers.