Outlaw Audio home shop products hideout news support about
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#13185 - 05/24/04 09:40 AM Knockout storms
Cadboy Offline
Gunslinger

Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
I don't know if all you Outlaws heard about the devastating Thunderstorm that swept through Michigan, Ohio and PA on the 21st, but it was a doosey! I left work 1/2 hour early after power was knocked out and the battery backups finally failed. We had power at home (wife and kids were safely hiding in the basement!)until I heard a "POP" from outsite and our power went into brown-out condition. Well, my wife, wanting to stay abreast of the weather situation, kept turning on the main TV, a 27" Panasonic. Now I'm no electrician, but I figured keeping the TV OFF was a good idea, right? I'm outside surveying the situation....every time my house lights browned you could see arcing light from a utility pole somewhere behind the homes on our side of the street. Well, my son starts shouting for me from inside the house, saying that Mom went to turn on the tv to check the weather reports, and all the tv's doing is making a high-pitched whine
We now have a cooked tv. I put a claim in to the electric company this morning so now I wait. The power was not restored to normal until 2:00am this morning(yes..5/24)!
My home owners policy has a $500 deductible, so that is more than the tv cost originally. Any other Outlaws have a similar story?

#13186 - 05/24/04 10:02 AM Re: Knockout storms
gonk Offline
Desperado

Loc: Memphis, TN USA
Ooh.... Storms.... Nasty stuff. I feel your pain.